Posted by: alysiabulva | February 17, 2012

Hearts for Carter

As a parent I want many things for my children… but above all, the one thing I hope for every morning when I wake up is that they are happy and healthy.

During my pregnancy with Kyle I looked into a lot of online resources. During this time I made myself an account on a web site called Baby Center. Through Baby Center I joined a birth board where I was able to chat and interact with other women who were expecting and due around the same time as me. Moms in the group shared pregnancy experiences and discuss so many things from older children, to birth stories, fears and worries to proud moments, vents and frustrations to funny stories, and much, much more. Many moms have become close, some have formed facebook groups, and some have even met in real life. It is through this Baby Center group that we have all come to know of Carter’s story, and that is the story I am going to share with you today.

Hearts for Carter

Carter was born in March, like Kyle, but unlike Kyle, Carter was diagnosed with Acute Myeloid Leukemia when he was 12 weeks old. He underwent chemotherapy treatments, and after the third round in October his parents were told he was in remission. They completed the final two rounds of chemo to make sure they got it all, and Carter was home with his family for Christmas. Fast forward to February. Carter’s mom brought him to the doctor for what seemed to be constipation. Symptoms weren’t adding up, and after running some tests the doctors found that Carter had a tumor covering 25% of his brain. They performed surgery and were able to remove 50% of the tumor. The doctors also discovered that there were more tumors. These ones are wrapping around his spine and are inoperable. Carter got his first round of chemo yesterday (2/16).

All Megan (Carter’s mom) has ever asked of the group of moms is prayers. I can’t even imagine what this family is going through. I look at my boys and try to think of what it would be like to be in the hospital with them, watching them go through something like this, seeing how much strength they posses at such a young age, and I know what is going through my head while thinking about it can’t even hold a candle to what Megan and her family are going through. I am definitely squeezing my kids a little harder each time I hug them, enjoying each smile, laugh, hug and kiss a little more, and have vowed to not take them for granted.

Kyle with his heart for Carter. Stay strong Carter!!!

Some of the moms in the group have put together an amazing fundraiser. They are selling “Hearts for Carter” bracelets, similar to the popular “LIVESTRONG” bracelets. The bracelets are $5 a piece and all proceeds go directly to Carter’s family. There are no shipping fees either, as other moms have donated envelopes and stamps for mailing out the bracelets. Some people have even bought bracelets and then donated them back to be re-sold. Please consider going to the linked facebook page (found at the bottom of this post) and buying a bracelet. I have bought two, and Collan and I will wear them proudly. And if you pray, then please do so for Carter and his family. If you don’t pray, please keep them in your thoughts.

Hearts for Carter Bracelet Fundraiser

Recent newspaper article

Responses

  1. Alysia – This is an amazing way to help get the word out! You are an incredible person just like most of the mommies that I have had the opportunity to interact with through this site! Carter has a lot of people rooting him on and that is incredible! Thanks again for spreading the word about the bracelets!

    ❤ Melanie


Leave a Reply

Categories

